Westfield State plans to resume its traditional, on-campus schedule for fall 2020. Given the ongoing uncertainties related to COVID-19, we believe it is also prudent to develop contingency plans. Updates will be communicated as they become available.


Important Milestones

Westfield State is an education leader committed to providing students of every generation with a learning experience built on its founding principle as the first co-educational college in America to offer an education without barrier to race, gender or economic status. This spirit of innovative thinking and social responsibility is forged in a curriculum of liberal arts and professional studies that creates a vital community of engaged learners who become confident, capable individuals prepared for leadership and service to society.

  • 1839: Founded by Horace Mann as the first public coeducational school for teacher education in the U.S. The school is opened in Barre, Mass. as Normal School for teacher training.
  • 1844: Moved to Westfield
  • 1847: Alumni Association established
  • 1892: Dedication of Court Street building (now City Hall)
  • 1925: Student government established
  • 1932: Name changed to State Teachers College and a four-year program instituted
  • 1956: Current campus dedicated
  • 1960: Name changed to State College at Westfield
  • 1960s: Graduate and Continuing Education instituted
  • 1967: Name changed to Westfield State College
  • 2009: Largest freshman class and highest enrollment in Westfield State’s history
  • 2010: Name changed to Westfield State University
  • 2014: First nursing class graduates 21 students
  • 2016: New Science and Innovation Center opens